Types of Eligible Applicants

There are four types of eligible applicants for public assistance. If an entity meets the requirements of one of the types, the applicant may be eligible to receive public assistance.

  1. State Government Agencies
  2. Local Governments and Special Districts
    Any county, city, village, town, district, or other political subdivision of any state and includes any rural community, unincorporated town or village, or other public entity for which an application for assistance is made by a state or political subdivision thereof. Other state and local political subdivisions may be eligible if they are formed in accordance with state law as a separate entity and have taxing authority. These include, but are not limited to, school districts, irrigation districts, fire districts, and utility districts.
  3. Private Nonprofit Organizations
    Private nonprofit organizations or institutions that own or operate facilities that are open to the general public and that provide certain services otherwise performed by a government agency. These services include:

    • Education
      Colleges and universities
      Parochial and other private schools
    • Utility
      Systems of energy, communication, water supply, sewage collection and treatment, or other similar public service facilities.
    • Emergency
      Fire protection, ambulance, rescue, and similar emergency services
    • Medical
      Hospital, outpatient facility, rehabilitation facility, or facility for long-term care for mental or physical injury or disease.
    • Custodial Care
      Homes for the elderly and similar facilities that provide institutional care for persons who require close supervision, but do not require day-to-day medical care.
    • Other Essential Governmental Services
      Museums, zoos, community centers, libraries, homeless shelters, senior citizen centers, rehabilitation facilities, shelter workshops and facilities that provide health and safety services of a governmental nature. Health and safety services are essential services that are commonly provided by all local governments and directly affect the health and safety of individuals. Low-income housing, alcohol and drug rehabilitation, programs for battered spouses, transportation to medical facilities, and food programs are examples of health services.
  4. Federally recognized Native American Indian Tribes, Alaskan Native Tribal Governments, Alaskan Native village organizations or authorized tribal organizations and Alaskan Native village organizations.