Warren County Board of County Commissioners

Shannon Jones
Warren County Board of Commissioners

Shannon Jones Shannon Jones was elected to the Warren County Commission in November 2016 following a decade of elected service in the Ohio General Assembly. Known as a passionate advocate for children and families, and given her extensive background in public leadership, she continues to achieve results to improve the quality of life for all Warren County residents. Committed to fiscal responsibility, Shannon uses data and evidence to evaluate policy to ensure the most efficient and cost-effective way to deliver county services.

Shannon served in the Ohio General Assembly from January 2007 to January 2017 as a State Representative and a State Senator, where she was chosen by her colleagues for key leadership posts in both chambers. During her time, she was the only woman in her party, and first in Ohio history, ever to achieve the distinction of election to the majority leadership teams in both chambers. Known as a leader who is willing to tackle the most difficult and complex issues, Shannon used her trusted influence to work in a bipartisan fashion to address some of the most pressing issues facing Ohioans. As such, she earned coveted committee leadership posts throughout her tenure, including Chair of the Senate Public Utilities Committee, Chair of the Senate Medicaid, Health & Human Services Committee and Vice-Chair of the powerful Senate Finance and Appropriations Committee.

Given her strong leadership and advocacy skills, Shannon was appointed to the Board of the County Commissioner’s Association of Ohio that helps to advocate for state policy that supports the needs of counties and the constituents they serve, and is currently a member of the National Association of Counties' Human Services and Education Steering Committee. She also serves on various Warren County boards and commissions including the Regional Planning Commission, the Area 12 Workforce One Investment Board, the Educational Service Center Council of Government, and the Data Processing & Records Retention and Microfilm Boards.

In addition to her public service, Shannon leads Groundwork Ohio, a statewide, nonprofit policy development and advocacy organization that advances quality early care and education so every Ohio child has the best chance for lifelong success. As Executive Director, she works to ensure every elected leader, administrator and diverse stakeholder understands the value of making strategic investments in Ohio’s youngest children and why that investment is critical to Ohio’s long-term economic success.

Shannon earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Cincinnati, and in 2008 was selected for the Rodel Fellowship in Public Leadership by the prestigious Aspen Global Leadership Institute. She also currently serves as a board member for the Health Policy Institute of Ohio, the YWCA of Greater Dayton and the Warren County Foundation. Her recognitions include the 2019 Venue Magazine Woman of Influence Award, the 2016 YWCA Woman of Influence Award; the Ohio Children’s Hospital Association Children’s Leadership Award, the VOICES for Ohio’s Children Health Champion Award; the 2016 Gabbe Infant Mortality Leadership Award; the 2015 Begala Public Service Award from the Center for Community Solutions; The Dayton Business Journal’s “Power 50 Most Influential Women” list in 2014, 2015 and 2016 as well as many others.

Shannon and her husband, Russell, live in Springboro with their daughter, Anna, who attends Springboro High School and is a cross country runner and a cadet in the Junior ROTC. Her son, Jake, is in his Junior year at Wright State University studying Acting. Most important to Shannon is her family and together they can be found at Cincinnati Bengals games or enjoying local theater productions.

The Board of County Commissioners Meeting is held on Tuesdays at 9:00 am and the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month at 5:00 pm. Thursday meetings are on an "as needed" basis and the Board may schedule or cancel as deemed necessary. If you plan to attend a Thursday meeting, please call (513) 695-1250 to confirm the meeting has not been cancelled.